Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Share |

There shall be eight (8) standing committees. The chair shall be appointed by the President and approved by the Executive Committee and four (4) most recent past presidents. Committee chairs, with the exception of the Membership Committee, shall be appointed at the first meeting of the fiscal year to serve for a term of two years and be eligible for reappointment. Committee members shall be appointed annually by the Committee chair.

  • Membership Committee- Reviews the qualifications of candidates, makes recommendations on each candidate to the Board of Directors, and presents candidates approved by the Board of Directors to the general membership.
  • Continuing Medical Education Committee- Plans, implements and evaluates the educational programs of the Annual Meeting and the Society session at the Michigan State Medical Society Annual Scientific Meeting. 
  • Government Affairs and Health Policy Committee- Provides oversight of federal and state government affairs and health care policy to sustain and enhance the advocacy efforts of the Society.
  • Scientific Investigation Committee- Plans and implements the annual Resident Research Competition and shall serve as the judging panel for competition submissions.  
  • Finance Committee- In cooperation with the Secretary-Treasurer, provides a continual review of the financial resources necessary to carry out the Society’s priorities/activities, including the sources of financial support, investments, and disbursements and conducts an in-depth review of the Society’s year-end financial documents to assure the Board of Directors and the membership that the funds of the Society were prudently managed and that expenditures were consistent with the purposes and levels intended at the time that the financial plan (budget) for the fiscal year was prepared and approved by the Board of Directors.
  • Professionalism and Ethics Committee- Maintains and disseminates the American Academy of Dermatology guidelines for a code of professional conduct and ethical principles for Society members and reviews complaints or charges alleging violation of these guidelines by Society members. 
  • Patient Access and Payer Relations Committee- Educates insurers, employers and other entities on the value of dermatology, builds and fosters relationships with insurers, employers and other stakeholders, and works to ensure that coverage and payment policies allow for the highest quality of dermatologic care for patients. Also serves as a resource for members with questions about correct coding or payer coding interpretation as well as interacting with payers on behalf of members where desired and appropriate.
  • Public Relations Committee- Develops and implements a multi-faceted communications strategy that promotes the dermatologist as the physician expert in the diagnosis and medical, surgical, and cosmetic treatment of skin, hair, and nail conditions; reinforces dermatology as the specialty committed to advancing quality patient care through state-of-the-art scientific research; and reinforces the Society’s position on key issues affecting the specialty.